empty cell
Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD) arrows logo
Technical Assistance


Contact addresses are provided at the bottom of the page.

Contact Kevin Sylvester, Team Leader, for information on:

  • MUTCD Part 1 - General Information
  • Standard Highway Signs Book
  • Traffic Control Devices Pooled-Fund Study
  • Status of MUTCD Rulemaking Activities
  • AASHTO Committee on Traffic Engineering (CTE) Support
  • MUTCD Outreach
  • MUTCD Peer-to-Peer Program

Contact Marty Calawa for information on:

  • MUTCD Part 2 - Guide and Motorist Information Signs
  • Changeable Message Signs
  • Standard Highway Colors
  • Traffic Control for Toll and Managed Facilities

Contact Eric Ferron for information on:

  • MUTCD Part 6 - Temporary Traffic Control

Contact Dave Kirschner for information on:

  • MUTCD Part 3 - Markings
  • MUTCD Part 9 - Traffic Control for Bicycle Facilities
  • MUTCD Official Rulings

Contact Duane Thomas for information on:

  • MUTCD Part 4 - Traffic Signals
  • MUTCD Part 8 - Traffic Control for Railroad and Light Rail Transit Grade Crossings

Contact Matt Zeller for information on:

  • MUTCD Part 2 - Regulatory and Warning Signs
  • MUTCD Part 5 - Low-Volume Roads
  • MUTCD Part 7 - Traffic Control for School Areas

Contact Mailing Addresses

The FHWA prefers that e-mail be used as the primary means of written communication to the MUTCD Team. However, in the event that e-mail is not possible, the following mailing address should be used for postal mail or delivery services:

The mailing address for Kevin Sylvester, Marty Calawa, Dave Kirschner, and Matt Zeller is:

Office of Transportation Operations (HOTO)
Federal Highway Administration, Mail Stop: E84-402
1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E.
Washington, DC 20590

The mailing address for Eric Ferron and Duane Thomas is:

FHWA Resource Center
31 Hopkins Plaza, Suite 840
Baltimore, MD 21201